The pseudo identity of human groups

It appeared to Lord Wilmore that the pseudo identity of human groups systematically led to the same disasters.

At best  : conflicts.  At worst  :  war.

Affirmations of the type "  I am Christian  ","  I am Muslim  ","  I am Jewish  ","  I am white  ","  I'm black  ","  I am red  ","  i am yellow  ",  etc ... almost always lead to bloody and deadly catastrophes.

According to Lord Wilmore, it is the appropriate response to this question of the identity of groups that will allow, among other things (the global ecological crisis, the possible wanderings of robotics, the virtualization of social relations ...), survival of our species.

 

Lord Wilmore is working on several concepts asking the same question more or less directly  : "  Is the identity of human groups only a dangerous illusion?  ?  "

 

 

Peinture numérique imprimée sur Chromaluxe - Amazing Duck - Lord Wilmore

The Bow Tie Duck

One of these concepts is expressed through the Bow Tie Duck.

This duck with a bow tie, depicted in a minimum of lines, is a character that is both lunar and transparent, allowing the viewer to fully project himself into the work.

Having no eyes, no mouth, no facial features, he invites the viewer to identify completely with this form. Viewer who has no other choice but to project himself into his own character, that is to say  : each and every one of us. A bunch of different identities ...

At least 7 billions identities.

The identity of human groups would therefore be an illusion  ?

The only group identity that could be valid in the long term would be to admit: "  I am human  ". All unique, but all united in one humanity.

We will see where it all takes us.

Peinture numérique imprimée sur Chromaluxe - Bow Tie Duck Diamonds - Lord Wilmore

APPROACH & CONCEPTS

Post-internet artist in essence, Lord Wilmore is unambiguously a post-digital artist. Indeed :  either Lord kills the pixel by reinterpreting it in acrylic on canvas, or  he materializes it  once and for all in aluminum  Chromaluxe.

 

Art deconstructed painting until his death. Lord sounds the death knell for color. Laughing at ultra pop, daring to uber glam, and uncontrollably flirting with overkitch, Lord brings the digital image back, in what it has in-print and intangible, to the solid material.

Lord captures colors never materialized for 200 years in sublimated aluminum. Ultrachromatic vibrations resonate with those of the viewer.

 

In an apparent joie de vivre varnished with mastered naivety, his works almost permanently refer to the civilization of too much marked by an unprecedented vanity and question us about the chances of survival of our species.

 

Haunted by the possible collapse of humanity, he centers most of his work on the identity of human groups.

 

 

Peinture numérique imprimée sur Chromaluxe - No People Monk - Lord Wilmore

​​

The No people

Another concept is developing in the No People series.

In No People, we never really recognize with certainty the real identity of the characters.

Most often filled with black, they become impersonal, and thereby deny the validity of the identity of groups.

Peinture numérique imprimée sur Chromaluxe - No People Pieta - Lord Wilmore

The "De Staëlization"

Fascinated by the work of Nicolas De Staël, Lord Wilmore, in a tribute from artist to artist, explores the possibilities of interpretation of a painting flirting as often as possible with the border of the country of "abstraction-figuration" .

 

Sometimes misled by a title, this digital no man's land leaves the viewer with the initial questioning of identity: what is she looking at, what is he really looking at? A woman, a man, a dancer, a top model? ... or paint stains?

The "De Staëlization" goes beyond the previous concepts, in that it almost raises the question of the very identity of individuals.

From when do you become an "individual"?

Because, come to think of it, everything blends into an original abstraction.

Peinture numérique imprimée sur Chromaluxe - De Staëlization Garbage - Lord Wilmore
Peinture numérique imprimée sur Chromaluxe - De Staëlization Dancing Queen -g Lord Wilmore
Peinture numérique imprimée sur Chromaluxe - De Staëlization - Lord Wilmore

Post digital works in acrylic on canvas: why?

 

In a constant concern of "  pixel kill  », Lord Wilmore tries an unprecedented experiment: to create digital works to interpret them in the material not by a technical process involving the advanced technology of sublimation on Chromaluxe® but with his own hands armed with brushes, acrylic colors and street artist markers.

 

A painter in short?

Not quite: these painted works are not a return to the sources of secular pictorial art, they are post-digital. All the acrylic paintings on canvas that you see here are first designed with digital techniques (computer, tablet, graphics software, etc.). It is Lord Wilmore, the man of flesh and blood, who, in a second step, translates them in a gesture filled with human vagueness. Bravely trying to end the digital dictatorship, Lord gives humanity another chance in the face of the machines' seemingly inevitable takeover of our species.

 

These works come from several concepts developed by Lord Wilmore from 2016 until today.

The majority comes from De Staëlization, but a few Bow Tie Ducks have slipped into the lot, as well as other concepts such as Videogamestars, Censorbars (censorship bar hiding the eyes of the characters) or the Visual Identity of the Archangels.

Finally, we will note in the work of the artist, and that without too much intellectual fatigue, the absence of a unique visual style supposedly guaranteeing coherence.

The unique style police have of course been trying for several years to stop Lord Wilmore in his stylistic multiplicity, without success. 

Because, if the style is the man, the man is multiple. 

Like Lord Wilmore.

And like you.

3 Ronins in situ copy.jpg
IMG_4606small.jpg
Black Notre Dame Post Digital Lord Wilmore

La pseudo identité des groupes humains

Il est apparu à Lord Wilmore que la pseudo identité des groupes humains menait systématiquement aux mêmes désastres. Au mieux : les conflits.  Au pire : la guerre.

Les affirmations de type « je suis chrétien », « je suis musulman », « je suis juif », « je suis blanc », « je suis noir », « je suis rouge », « je suis jaune »,  etc… menant à peu près toujours à des catastrophes sanglantes et mortifères.

Selon Lord Wilmore, c’est la réponse appropriée à cette question de l’identité des groupes qui permettra, entre autres choses (la crise écologique globale, les errances éventuelles de la robotique, la virtualisation des rapports sociaux...), la survie de notre espèce.

 

Lord Wilmore travaille sur plusieurs concepts posant la même question de manière plus ou moins directe : « L’identité des groupes humains ne serait-elle qu’une dangereuse illusion ? »

 

 

Peinture numérique imprimée sur Chromaluxe - Amazing Duck - Lord Wilmore

Le Bow Tie Duck

Un de ces concepts s'exprime à travers le Bow Tie Duck.

Ce canard à nœud papillon, figuré en un minimum de traits, est un personnage à la fois lunaire et transparent permettant la projection totale du regardeur dans l’œuvre.

N’ayant ni yeux, ni bouche, ni trait de visage, il invite le regardeur à s’identifier totalement à cette forme. Regardeur qui n’a d’autre choix que de se projeter dans son propre personnage, c’est-à-dire : chacun et chacune d’entre nous. Un paquet d’identités différentes …

7 milliards d’identités au moins.

L’identité des groupes humains serait donc un leurre ?

La seule identité de groupe qui pourrait être valable durablement serait d’admettre : « Je suis humain ». Toutes et tous uniques, mais toutes et tous uni(e)s dans une seule humanité.

Nous verrons bien où tout cela va nous mener.

Peinture numérique imprimée sur Chromaluxe - Bow Tie Duck Diamonds - Lord Wilmore

DÉMARCHE & CONCEPTS

Artiste post internet par essence, Lord Wilmore est, sans ambiguïté possible, un artiste post digital. En effet : soit Lord tue le pixel en le réinterprétant à l'acrylique sur toile, soit il le matérialise une bonne fois pour toutes dans l'aluminium Chromaluxe.

 

L'art a déconstruit la peinture jusqu'à sa mort. Lord sonne le glas de la couleur. Riant de l'ultra pop, osant l'über glam, et flirtant sans état d'âmes avec l'overkitch, Lord ramène l'image numérique, dans ce qu'elle a d'in-imprimable et d'intangible, à la matière solide.

Lord capture des couleurs jusque-là jamais matérialisées pour 200 ans dans l'aluminium sublimé. Les vibrations ultrachromatiques résonnant quant à elles avec celles du spectateur.

 

Dans une apparente joie de vivre vernie de naïveté maîtrisée, ses œuvres renvoient de façon quasi permanente à la civilisation du trop marquée par une vanité sans précédent et nous interrogent sur les chances de survie de notre espèce.

 

Hanté par le possible effondrement de l’humanité, il centre l’essentiel de son travail sur l’identité des groupes humains.

 

 

Peinture numérique imprimée sur Chromaluxe - No People Monk - Lord Wilmore

Les No people

Un autre concept se développe dans la série des No People.

Dans les No People, on ne reconnait jamais vraiment avec certitude l'identité réelle des personnages.

Remplis le plus souvent de noir, ils deviennent impersonnels, et nient, par la même, la validité de l'identité des groupes.

Peinture numérique imprimée sur Chromaluxe - No People Pieta - Lord Wilmore

La "De Staëlization"

Fasciné par l'oeuvre de Nicolas De Staël, Lord Wilmore, dans un hommage d'artiste à artiste, explore les possibilités d'interprétation d'une peinture flirtant le plus souvent possible avec la frontière du pays de l' "abstraction-figuration".

 

Parfois induit en erreur par un titre, ce no man's land digital laisse le regardeur avec le questionnement identitaire initial : que regarde-t-elle, que regarde-t-il, réellement ? Une femme, un homme, une danseuse, un top model ? ... ou des taches de peinture ?

La "De Staëlization" va au delà des concepts précédents, en cela qu'elle pose presque la question de l'identité même des individus.

A partir de quand devient-on un "individu" ?

Car, à bien y réfléchir, tout se fond dans une abstraction originelle.

Peinture numérique imprimée sur Chromaluxe - De Staëlization Garbage - Lord Wilmore
Peinture numérique imprimée sur Chromaluxe - De Staëlization Dancing Queen -g Lord Wilmore
Peinture numérique imprimée sur Chromaluxe - De Staëlization - Lord Wilmore

Oeuvres Post Digitales à l’acrylique sur toile : pourquoi ?

 

Dans un soucis constant de « tuer du pixel », Lord Wilmore tente une expérience inédite : créer des oeuvres digitales pour les interpréter dans la matière non pas par un procédé technique impliquant la technologie de pointe de la sublimation sur Chromaluxe® mais avec ses propres mains armées de pinceaux, de couleurs acryliques et de marqueurs de street artiste.

 

Un peintre en somme ?

Pas tout à fait : ces oeuvres peintes ne sont pas un retour aux sources de l’art pictural séculaire, elles sont post digitales. Toutes les peintures à l’acrylique sur toile que vous voyez ici sont conçues dans un premier temps avec des techniques numériques (ordinateur, tablette, softwares de graphisme etc…). C’est Lord Wilmore, l’homme de chair et d’os, qui, dans un second temps, les traduit dans un geste rempli d’imprécisions humaines. Essayant courageusement de mettre un terme à la dictature numérique, Lord donne une nouvelle chance à l’humanité face à la prise de pouvoir apparemment inéluctable des machines sur notre espèce.

 

Ces oeuvres proviennent de plusieurs concepts développés par Lord Wilmore depuis 2016 jusqu’à aujourd’hui.

La majorité est issue des De Staëlization mais, quelques Bow Tie Ducks se sont glissés dans le lot, ainsi que d’autres concepts comme les Videogamestars, les Censorbars (barre de censure cachant les yeux des personnages) ou l’Identité visuelle des Archanges.

Enfin, on notera dans le travail de l’artiste, et cela sans trop de fatigue intellectuelle, l’absence d’un style visuel unique soi-disant garant de cohérence.

La police du style unique tente bien entendu depuis plusieurs années d’arrêter Lord Wilmore dans sa multiplicité stylistique, sans succès. 

Car, si le style c’est l’homme, l’homme est multiple. 

Comme Lord Wilmore.

Et comme vous.

3 Ronins in situ copy.jpg
IMG_4606small.jpg
Black Notre Dame Post Digital Lord Wilmore